Merging data from .gpn files
As mentioned in the previous chapter, it is often necessary to transfer data from the database to a .gpn file in order to be able to work offline. Untis MultiUser offers a convenient tool to transfer data that has been changed offline back to the database without overwriting all the changes in the database that have been made by other users in the meantime.
A complete work cycle looks like this:
1.Export the data from the database to a .gpn file.
2.You can now work separately in both sets of data.
3.When the two sets of data are to be combined, open your .gpn file and choose the menu item "Modules | MultiUser | Merge in database".
4.A dialogue appears in which you have to enter your user name and your password. If the function "Log in after completion" is activated, you will be logged in automatically after the merge.
5.Now Untis examines every table in the database to see if there are changes with regard to the data in the .gpn file. For each table where changes are encountered (master data, lessons, holidays, etc.) a dialogue will be shown in which you can choose whether the change should be carried out or not.
Let us consider the following example:
In the columns "in gpn" and "in DB" you can see whether this element exists in the .gpn file or in the database. Teachers Hugo, Callas, Nobel and Rubens thus exist in both sets of data. They all have been changed in the database (last by the user "Administrator", see column "User"), which is indicated by the red background. The data of the teachers Cervantes and Newton, however, have only been changed in the .gpn file, which is why there is no red background.
In the example above the teacher Cervantes was newly created in the .gpn file (or deleted in the data base) and thus only has the checkbox "in .gpn" ticked. Newton, however, was deleted in the .gpn file or was newly created in the database and thus only has the checkbox "in DB" ticked. Use the column "Apply" to select the changes that you wish to transfer to the database. After that click on the button <Merge selected elements>.
Merely those elements that have been changed are displayed. No indication is given of the data that has been changed (time requests, codes, etc.).
Changes to the views in Untis or cover planning will not be transferred.